Productivity

06/26/2011

Today’s goal: Productivity. Success: Maybe.

Welcome to the very stressful second half of summer semester. Finals start in a month, I have two presentations for the same class this coming Wednesday and over 100 pages of reading every week for two of my classes respectively. Not to mention the fact that I have two 15 page term papers that have yet to be started and I have the GRE to study for as well. Even my dreams are stressful.

Besides the fact that I got a haircut on Monday, nothing really worth mentioning happened on Monday or Tuesday. Lets skip ahead to Wednesday then.

Wednesday afternoons I have a class about the Freiburg Münster (the medieval church in the center of town) and we go pretty much every week to either the Münster itself, or to one of the many places in Freiburg that is associated with the upkeep of it. Last Wednesday we went to the Augustinermuseum for a tour.

Basically the museum is where they put all the statues that were either too damaged or simply too old to keep on the Münster and a lot of them are the originals from the 13th and 14th centuries. It was pretty interesting to be able to see it all so close up; it’s rather hard to appreciate workmanship when something is three or four stories above you.

After the tour I pretty much swam to the city administration building because it was raining so hard. I got there, waited for 45 minutes in a very stinky room only to be told that even though my visa expires before I’m leaving the country, I don’t need to renew it. I don’t know what the deal is, and it honestly kind of scares me to have that not be valid anymore, but I guess I just have to trust that that woman knew what she was talking about.

Thursday we had off from school because of Corpus Christi (aka, Jesus did something again) which meant that I got to spend the whole day at home doing homework. Fun.

Thursday evening however we went to Karaoke. I sang two songs, the first was Super Trouper by Abba which I sang with my flatmate Sarah, and the second song we sang with Jamele was YMCA. I unfortunately don’t have any pictures from that song, you’ll just have to use your imagination.

I like Karaoke, even if I can’t sing at all.

Last weekend I made a deal with myself that on nights in which I don’t go out, I have to read for at least 30 minutes. Before I went to college, I would read every night but since then, I’ve kind of gotten out of the habit. It’s really rather refreshing to be reading for fun again; I forgot how much I enjoy reading. Therefore, I was actually pretty happy to spend Friday night at home because it meant that I could read for longer than 30 minutes.

I’m really loving the book that I’m reading. It’s called Of Human Bondage by W. Somerset Maugham and isn’t about what you think it’s about. It’s title comes from a section of Spinoza’s Ethics which is quoted in the beginning of the book, “The importance of man to govern or restrain the emotions I call bondage, for a man who is under their control is not his own master, but is mastered by fortune.” Basically, it’s one of those books where everyone talks a lot and there isn’t much action, aka: my kind of book.

It reminds me somewhat of The Magic Mountain by Thomas Mann, which is one of my favorite books. I love books that don’t just tell a story, but inspire you to take a step back and think about concepts and ideologies. I think that’s why I tend to like Bildungsromans, because as the main character is educated by his mentors, we the reader are also taught a little bit. I’d forgotten how much I love to read.

I got in trouble in 7th grade for reading All Quiet on the Western Front under the table during math class.

Yesterday evening I met up with Yi Qing for some chinese food and then we went over to the Händelwohnheim for their summer party. Basically, it was an all day/all night block party. There was live music, food and drinks for purchase, and it was all pretty chill.

It was nice to spend an evening just hanging out outside with everyone. There was a dance party once it got dark, but Mari, Yi Qing and I walked into town and got an Eis instead. All in all, it was a really chill and really nice way to spend a Saturday night.

Oh, and I found Vanilla coke at Kaufland which made me ridiculously excited. I drank almost the entire 1l bottle by myself. Yum.

I’m pretty sure that’s about it for this week. Just a heads up, next week’s blog might not be posted until Monday; I’m going to Cologne for the weekend and won’t get back to Freiburg until Sunday evening. Bear with me.

And as always, there are more photos on Facebook.

One Response to “Productivity”

  1. Robbi Says:

    “I don’t know what the deal is, and it honestly kind of scares me to have that not be valid anymore, but I guess I just have to trust that that woman knew what she was talking about.”

    Trust your instincts! That woman may NOT know what she was talking about. We have seen more than one cruising sailor get in serious trouble when some bureaucrat gave them incorrect information. NO country allows someone to be there on an expired visa. The amount of hassle, fines, or other consequences may vary, but it’s not a casual thing.


Leave a Reply

