Three and Four

06/05/2011

I had a good week this week. Because Thursday was Ascension day (I don’t know what that is, but it’s Catholic and has to do with Jesus), I didn’t have class on either Thursday or Friday. The month of June is pretty much a series of days off because of Jesus, and I’m all for it.

Monday I had that presentation that I was whining about in my last blog. It went alright, I’m just glad it’s done and over with. It was rather funny though, because my professor sent me an email later that day with his comments, and one of them was that in staying rather quiet during the discussion, I went against all the stereotypes they have of Americans. Thanks?

I really like my Wednesday Münster class. I’m sure the test at the end is going to be difficult, but it’s really interesting and we get to do about half of the classes either at the Münster or in museums. Plus, I found out that because I’m an international student, she’s willing to give me 6 ECTS points instead of 4 for the same amount of work (That means I get three credits instead of two).

Wednesday evening we all went to Karaoke, and boy, do I wish I had had my camera. It was the last karaoke on Wednesday(they’re switching to Thursdays), and the place was packed. I sang ‘It’s the end of the world as we know it’ by REM, and just generally had a good evening. It was my friend Yi Qing’s song however, that was really exceptional.

Before I tell you that story, I need to give you a bit of background. Straight European men have absolutely no problem with showing affection for each other. I mean, they take Bromance to a whole other level. So when the mc at karaoke announced that four guys were singing a song together and that they had promised a strip tease, everyone knew what they were in for.

They sang their song, and it was fine, but it wasn’t until Yi Qing got up to sing Ricky Martin that things got interesting. Instead of sitting down, the guys stayed up on stage and pretty much stripped each other while Yi Qing was singing. I was kicking myself the entire time for not having my camera.

Thursday, as I said, I had no class so I got to sleep in and basically just take it easy all day. I finished editing my professor’s paper and then met up with two friends for chinese food. After dinner, we took a walk and stumbled on this beer garden right on the bank of the river. We spent a little while there sitting and chatting, and I could definitely see myself going back there with some homework.

Friday I met up with some friends for a late lunch and then hung out in town for a little. I had that mini eggroll salad again, and if I dont get Ehec from that, I’m not going to get it from anything.

You’ve heard of the Ecoli/Ehec scare in Europe right now, right? Basically, vegetables have been contaminated and like 20 people have died or something. Honestly, I have a feeling it’s just one of those scares that happens every year, but it’s too bad that it started here in Germany, and that it’s carried by veggies of all things. I love veggies.

Yesterday I pretended to get work done all day and then met up with my friends in the evening. We had chili cheese dogs for dinner (well, I just had chili, cheese ain’t really my thing) and then pretty much just hung out at my friend’s flat all evening.

I don’t know why, but I really haven’t been in a party mood lately. I’d much rather keep things low key and hang out or watch a movie than go out until late at night. Don’t get me wrong, I have a lot of fun when I do go, but I find myself checking my watch a lot after 1am.

I’ve felt bad about the lack of photos in the last few blogs and so I tried to take my camera out more often. However, I didn’t end up with many more photos than normal. I’ll try to get better with this.

Why is it that I find it so hard to get work done on Sundays? I save myself the entire day to do to homework, and then I do everything I possibly can to not do it. Don’t get me wrong, it does eventually get done, but it takes four times longer than it should because I just don’t want to do it. This blog is a prime example of that, I should be reading for class tomorrow or writing my weekly essay, but I’d much rather write my blog than do any of that.

At least I haven’t started watching last night’s episode of Doctor Who. I can’t wait.

That’s about it for this week. Next week is a normal five day week, but the week after is free. I think we got some good things planned for that week.

 

Leave a Reply

