A Taste of Summer

04/03/2011

Alright, back on schedule with the Sunday blogs.

When I ended my last blog I was pretty certain that this week would be another one of those blogs where I apologize for not really having anything to say. Not so much.

Tuesday evening I got what is seriously one of the best emails I’ve ever gotten in my life. It was from the professor of my borders class and the subject line was ‘Your paper and job opportunity.’ Let me tell you what, I didnt even need to open it to tell that I should get excited. Not only did my professor tell me that he gave me the highest grade possible, an A or 1,0, on my term paper (remember how I told you I wasnt so sure about it?), but also that he had an offer for me. Now I wont know all the details until Tuesday, but the basic gist of it was that he offered me a job.

A different professor at the University of Constance is looking for english native speakers to edit manuscripts and somehow my name was brought up. I dont know if my professor approached this one, or the other way around, but either way I got mentioned.

I meet with my professor on Tuesday to discuss my paper and the job, but I can tell you now without knowing any of the details that I’m very interested. Writing has always been something that I’ve loved doing, and I cant wait until I’m older and I can publish a book of my own (non-fiction, of course). Writing however is not just putting words on paper, but editing draft after draft after draft and can take longer than writing the work itself. I love it.

I really hope this job works out, but even if it doesnt I’m just so excited to have been offered it. Oh, and to top that off, my professor sent me two articles he had written in English to proofread.

Did you know that one of the many reasons why I want to be a professor is because I don’t think I could make a living writing non-fiction books?

Alrighty then, enough with me bragging, lets talk about the rest of the week! Wednesday I woke up feeling off, but I’m doing much better now. No worries.

Thursday afternoon Halldis, Jamele and I went shopping in town for 80’s clothes. Friday night was a party at this club and since their deal was that they were only playing 80’s music all night, we decided to dress up.

We were the only ones who dressed up, and were probably some of the only ones under the age of 25-30 but everyone was dancing and it was really a fun night. I’m pretty sure that being dressed up made it more fun anyways.

I wish Id have had my legwarmers, my mom gave me hers for a different 80’s party but I obviously didnt bring them to Freiburg. That’s the problem with costume parties in Germany, I know I have all the stuff I’d need at home in the States but I wasnt about to schlepp it over here on the off chance I might want it. Ah well.

Only bummer about dressing up 80’s and having short hair is that I cant do a side ponytail, but maybe that’s for the best.

We took the night bus home which is a pretty slick thing. The trams stop running at about 12:30 am, but there’s this bus which stops in the city center at 1:11, 2:22, 3:33 and so on. It takes a different route than the tram and isnt covered by our semester ticket which means we have to pay a bit extra, but it beats the hell out of walking back and is far cheaper than a taxi. We took the 2:22 and I was back in StuSie less than 15 minutes later.

Yesterday was the most gorgeous day yet here in Freiburg. It was 70 and sunny, with a slight breeze and I spent almost the entire day outside.

Halldis and I met up with Asumi, our friend from Japan, for lunch and sat outside at this nice little cafe. It was nice to catch up, I hadnt seen Asumi since February and she’s done more traveling than I have in the last month or so. After lunch we got a gelato and walked over to Augustinerplatz to sit in the sun and chill.

After saying goodbye to them I came back to StuSie and went to the Seepark to meet up with Jamele. The Seepark, if you remember from other blogs, is like the lakes in Minneapolis except while the lake may not be any bigger, the green park area around it definitely is.

That lawn there was full of people by the time Halldis showed up about an hour later. We just sat there and hung out and enjoyed the sun. I may have enjoyed the sun a little too much, however.

I had picked up some sunscreen after lunch, but it was only 20spf and by the time I bought it I had already spent two hours in the sun eating lunch and gelato. I’m a little burnt but not bad, really. Tan lines are back however, I have a clear X on my feet from the straps of my sandals.

We took a walk around the lake and then I came back here to StuSie for a little bit and watched an episode or two of Doctor Who. That’s kind of my new tv show obsession which is good because there are so many episodes, but also bad because there are so many episodes. I’ve watched so much of it over the last week that I dream about it. That may be a sign…

But anyways, I came back to my room and hung out for like an hour or two, made a quick trip to the grocery store and then headed over to Jamele’s for a barbeque. I picked up some wursts at the store and they honestly made really good hot dogs. I’m a sucker for the foot long hot dogs at the state fair partly because they use real casings and it kind of snaps when you bite them. These wursts did the same thing. It was delicious.

It could not have felt more like summer. A big group of people sitting around a picnic table outside with a grill going. It smelled like grilling, beer, sunscreen, old cigarette smoke and bug spray. If “Summer” was a perfume, that would be it. Love it.

Its gorgeous again today and I’ll probably go for a walk around the lake when I’m done writing this.

This is the last blog I’ll be writing from Germany for a couple of weeks now, I go to Frankfurt on Thursday and my plane leaves early-ish Friday morning. I’ll be in the Cities before your dinnertime on Friday (it’ll be midnight for me, ugh). It’s hard to believe its already here, I honestly dont think I’ll believe I’m home until I am physically there. It’s been almost seven months.

I’ll be home from the 8th to the 22nd, lets hang out.

One Response to “A Taste of Summer”

  1. Amy Says:

    You and your hot dogs. : )

    I am so freakin excited to see you!!!
    I can’t promise anything, but i may be free Sunday morn for a couple hours if that works for you, I will let you know.


Leave a Reply

