Of Endings and Beginnings

02/13/2011

Ive got some good news and some bad news. Good news: I’m done with classes until May 2nd! Bad news: I have a test retake on Wednesday so I’m back in the stressing about finals mode.

Monday I got my test scores back for my borders class, I got a two! Instead of ABCD’s for grades, the Germans use a number system. For example, 1 is an A and 4 is the bare minimum to pass which means that a two is pretty much the equivalent of a B. I was shocked that I did that well honestly, but I’m not gonna complain!

Wednesday I had my Intro to History class final which was freaking impossible. It was multiple choice, but instead of there being one right answer per question, there was up to three and they didnt tell you how many there were at the start of the question. Basically, it was like an hour and a half of second guessing even the most simple things.

Our TA sent out an email with our results on Thursday saying that the professors made the test purposefully impossible to scare off freshman who werent completely dedicated. Without the curve, 90% of the 350 Germans would have failed. I didnt stand a chance against those odds. I get to retake it on Wednesday. Ugh.

Thursday was my very last day of class for the semester! I can hardly wrap my mind around the fact that between now and May, the biggest things I have on my calendar are two term papers and travelling all over Europe. It’s a lovely time to start break though, its been hovering in the mid to upper 50’s for the last week and it’s basically a pleasure just to be outside.

Thursday evening we went to Handelbar, which was fun even though we did end up walking back to StuSie at like 3am. Always an adventure with us, you know.

I’m really sick of going out at night and coming back smelling like cigarette smoke. Unlike in the States, a lot of bars and clubs here let you smoke inside so by the time I get back home, all I can smell is smoke. I avoided wearing my peacoat for two days because it was so overpowering (not that I needed to wear it in the first place, a fleece has been more than enough during the day). It’s not the best smell in the world.

Friday night was movie night again, this time we watched Mars Attacks which was so awfully cheesy that it was awfully good.

Yesterday was really nice. At about two in the afternoon I went into town to run a couple errands, and it was so nice that I was able to aimlessly wander through Freiburg for the first time since September. I’ll tell you one thing, Freiburg is a pretty city to take a walk in.

The state that Freiburg is in – Baden-Württemberg, is having state elections March 27th and yesterday was the first day they started campaigning. There were a couple stands up in the center of town from a couple different parties and people were handing out flyers and all that stuff.

There’s a party in Germany called the Piraten Partei which translates exactly as you would expect, the Pirate Party. The sign in the picture is one of theirs and it roughly translates to ‘Politics done differently’ or something of that sort.

It’s going to be interesting to see how Germans campaign. Too bad I dont have a TV, I’m rather curious as to how their campaigning is different to ours.

After I finished my errands, I went over to my friends’ flat and had a cappuccino and just hung out for a while and put together a playlist for last night’s party. Oh yes.

Today is my roommate Sarah’s 21st birthday, last night was her party. We started out at Danija and Lucia’s flat because they actually have a sitting room and had a couple drinks before catching the last tram into town at like 12:30.

From StuSie we went to this club which was in the basement of some coffee shop. There were so many people with dreads there, it was kind of ridiculous.

I was having a really fun night up until about 2:30 when we left and started trying to figure out where to go from there. I’ll just sum it up by saying that we ended up standing in the same place for almost an hour because one of my friends was being obnoxious.

As I said before, today is Sarah’s birthday so her family came over from England for the weekend to celebrate with her. They were all over here earlier this afternoon and brought mincemeat birthday cake along with. They seem really nice.

I feel like I hear hardly any American English over here.

So that about sums this last week up! I have two term papers and this retake on Wednesday, but otherwise I’m looking at 2.5 months of break and I cant wait. I’ve been here for 5 months now, and in two weeks will be half way through my trip. I’m so in love with Europe and I never want to leave.

 

Leave a Reply

