A Toast to Spontaneity

01/09/2011

Hello everyone! I’m writing to you now because my overhead marker decided to run out of ink and there are no stores open where I can buy a new one. No worries though, I have two hours between my classes tomorrow to pick one up and finish my homework.

The overhead is for a quick 3min presentation that half of the students in my borders class have to give tomorrow. We have to present the topic of our final 15 page paper (theme, thesis, questions we’re trying to answer, etc). I’m writing mine on the Old City of Jerusalem in the Six Day War and the role the Western Wall played in all of this. It’s rather hard to explain in one sentence, but nevertheless quite interesting.

Class starts back up again tomorrow which means that finals are only four weeks away. That’s a frightening thought seeing as I have absolutely no idea how German finals are structured. Good news though, with finals only a month away, break is only 5 weeks away and then I had 2.5 months of awesome! I’m kind of excited.

We’ve gotten to the part of this week’s blog where I make everyone from MN want to get up and move. It’s been consistently in the mid to upper 50’s this week. In fact, yesterday was 60 and partly sunny. I rather like being able to walk around in just a long sleeve shirt and jeans in the first week of January, you know?

One of my friends from Freiburg posted this video on their facebook, and I loved it so much I wanted to share it with you. If you ever wondered what December in Freiburg (or just Germany in general) was like, this video is a wonderful example. It makes me wish I was in Freiburg, even though I’m already here.

It was made this year, so that fair you’re seeing is the same Christmas market my friends and I drank Glühwein at. And thats all real video/photography, its just some weird technique that makes it look like toys.

Thursday was some silly catholic holiday, so the entire city shut down. With all the stores closed, I had nothing to do and an afternoon of time I had set aside to go into town. Instead, I got on a tram going in the opposite direction and decided I wanted an adventure.

I went to the very end of the line, thought that apartment complexes were far too boring, so I hopped on a random bus waiting at the curb. Ten minutes of driving through country and forests (remember, I do live in the Black Forest region), I decided that wherever the bus stopped next was where I would get off. Lucky for me, it was in a small town named Hochdorf.

Just as a side bit of information, I didnt know the name of the town until I looked at a map when I got back home two hours later.

Because it was a catholic holiday, I decided it might be cool to take a look in the Church and see what was going on. For any of you that have been to Europe, you know that every single town, no matter how big it is, has a church in the center that more often then not, is the skyline. When I got inside however, there was no one there.

It was completely empty. The only security was a sign taped to a chair telling people not to break anything. Fair enough.

It was completely quite, musty and honestly probably my favorite church that I have seen since I got here. The huge Münsters are gorgeous, dont get me wrong, the vaulted ceilings, and towering pillars make them seem larger than life, but the simplicity of this church was refreshing. Plus, the colors of turquoise, gold, deep brown, pale blue and tan were quite pretty put together the way they were.

Right outside the church were these three plaques. The one on the left is a list of Hochdorf residents who died in WW1, the one on the left is a list of those who died fighting in WW2, and the one in the middle is a list of civilians who died during the allied bombing raids of 1944. One interesting thing about the plaque on the right is the very bottom group of names are those who died in Russia in 1946 in soviet detention camps.

For just hopping on a bus and hoping for the best, I had a pretty good afternoon. It didnt hurt that it was like 50 degrees outside either.

The only other notable thing I did this week was go to a flea market. I went to one back in October, if you remember the blog How I Became A Millionaire.

They have them about ever 1.5 to 2 months at the convention center just out of town and its an interesting way to spend an hour or two. Theres a lot of junk of course, but you never know what old books or trinkets you may stumble across. Plus, there’s something much more satistfying about finding an antique book or pin or whatever that youre interested in and being able to see it and hold it before you buy it. Ebay is great, and there are plenty amazing things being sold, but just like reading an ebook cant compete with the real thing, the same thing goes with antiques or historical and political memorabilia.But that’s just my opinion.

I know this blog is rather shorter than normal, but my life hasnt been that exciting this week. You’ll just have to take what you can get this week, and hopefully with everyone back in town, next Sunday’s blog will be longer and have more pictures.

Tschüss!

2 Responses to “A Toast to Spontaneity”

  1. francie paper Says:

    Sarah, You may not remember me but I’m a good friend of your gramma Loey. I want to tell you how much I enjoy reading your blog! I admire what you’re doing and I also admire your writing talent. I know you’re taking a trip with Loey & Mitch soon and would like to recommend a book I think will add a worthwhile dimension to your trip : THE HARE WITH AMBER EYES by Edmund De Waal. It’s a fascinating true biography/memoir of one of the richest European Jewish banking families in 19th century Vienna and Paris, beautifully told by a fifth generation descendant. It’s utterly remarkable. Francie Paper

    • Sarah Says:

      I’m so glad you like my blog! That book sounds quite interesting, if a bookstore around here has it I might have to pick up a copy. 🙂


Leave a Reply

