Dinner and Dancing

11/21/2010

It’s been a week since my last post, and it was definitely a good week.

On Tuesday, my friends and I went to see the movie “Wall Street” with Shia La Buff (i have no idea how to spell his name…) and it was actually pretty good. Then, because I looked it up on imdb afterwards, I watched another film by Oliver Stone, W. Now that’s an interesting movie. Its hard to believe we had eight years of that. But anyways…

There has been a series of lectures and exhibits here in Freiburg this fall to comemorate the 70th anniversary of the deportation of Baden’s Jews to Gurs, a french concentration camp. Wednesday night I went to a lecture at the University about the small group of resistance at the University. I think I should emphasize the word small, because they really didnt do much except get themselves imprisoned or killed.

But anyways, the guy finished his lecture and then asked for questions from us, and the old guy sitting next to me immediately raised his hand.Now, to set the tone here, this guy reeked of whiskey and taco bell, and his face was an entirely remarkable shade of red. He raised his hand and told the professor that the lecture he had just given was awful, and that he had completely ignored the theme of the eveneing. Even though I didnt know this guy, the fact that he was sitting next to me was enough to make me want to curl up and disappear from embarrassment.

Thursday, we went Irish dancing. There’s an Irish pub here in Freiburg and every Thursday evening they have Irish dancing, and it was really really fun. Now when I say Irish dancing, I know the first thing that popped into your head was river dancing, where your upper body is completely still and your legs do all the kicking and tapping… nope! Basically it was like line dancing, remember in gym class when we had to do doe-si-doe and grape vine? That’s what it was like except to irish music and much more fun than gym class ever was. It made for a great evening.

Friday, my friend Marc from Barcelona made us a traditional Catalonian dinner. Various types of sliced meat like Chorizo and such, and bread with a spread of olive oil and tomato. Oh, and let’s not forget the Sangria. It was tasty.

Because my group of friends is from so many different countries, we thought it would be a cool idea to have one of us cook a traditional dinner each week. This friday was the first one, from Catalonia, next week is my turn. I’m so excited to cook a legitimate Thanksgiving dinner. I’ll let you know how that goes in my next blog post.

Back to Friday evening. After dinner, a little too much Sangria and watching Intercollegiate Quidditch on youtube, we went to a house party in Vaubon. It was a good night.

If you’ve ever lived in a US college dorm, having different organizations or groups put fliers into your mailbox advertising their events is nothing new to you. Its nothing new to the Germans either. So Friday night when we saw a flier advertising an American themed party on Saturday, I knew immediately that we had to go. The flier claimed that if you dressed up as an American, you could get in free…. they made me pay. Apparently Americans are all cowboys and 50’s style greasers. Who knew.

It was a fun party though, the music was probably some of the best I’ve heard while abroad (although that might have something to do with the fact that it was all solely American music…) and people were dancing. I love dancing. The one funny thing about it was the decorations.

You’ll notice that the picture on the left is normal enough, the word “Party” spelled out with mini American flags, but its the photo on the right that I want you to take a good look at. I think they got a little confused with the last letter of USA. Last time I checked, there was no E in USA.

I can only come up with one good reason for this pretty big mistake. In German, the letter A is pronounced ‘ah’ while the letter E is pronounced ‘eh’. Now, say USA, it’s a lot closer to ‘eh’ than ‘ah’ isnt it. But still, if you’re having a themed party, you should at least be able to spell that theme correctly. Seeing USA spelled USE was probably one of the best things I’ve seen in my entire 2 1/2 months here.

We walked back to StuSie last night at 2am. The trams here stop running at 12:30, which is probably one of the dumbest things ever.

I just remembered, yesterday afternoon I met up with a guy from my Borders class because he’s giving a presentation on American westward expansion and wanted to hear what I had to say about it. We didnt talk too much about westward expansion, but I did learn that during the Second World War, there were some Nazis in his family, some of them took refuge in the Church and an Uncle was murdered by Hitler for being a part of the July 20th 1944 assassination attempt (to jog your memory, think Tom Cruise in Valkyrie). That’s a pretty interesting group of people.

We had coffee outside, and by the time I left, I was so cold that when I got home I wrapped myself up in a blanket with a glass of tee and shivered for about an hour.

I hope this blog was long enough for you, seeing as it’s roughly 1000 words…

And as always, more photos are on my facebook.

2 Responses to “Dinner and Dancing”

  1. Robyn Says:

    What are you going to make for Thanksgiving? Can you get the traditional ingredients? Good luck!

  2. Amy Says:

    I should hope to see some pics of your meal soon. : )
    I will send you some of my religion “I Believe” project tomorrow. I am making kugel right now. Smells… divine.

    U. S. E. Love it.

    Don’t sit next to the drunk guys lectures, it is pretty much the first rule.


Leave a Reply

