Ein Film ohne Gewissen

11/07/2010

In 1940, Joseph Goebbels released a film called “Jud Süß,” a film whose sole purpose was to manipulate its audience into a vehement hatred of the Jews. Though this film has been forbidden in Germany since the end of the second world war, I watched it a couple months ago at home. The reason why I tell you this is because there is a new movie that plays once a week at a small theater here in Freiburg called “Jud Süß – Film ohne Gewissen” which literally translates to Jew Süß – A Film Without a Conscience. It is a German film that follows the life of the man who played the main role in the 1940 film, Ferdinand Marian. It was really, really good.

I’m sorry that there are no subtitles, but let me reassure you that the actor who played Joseph Goebbels was very good. Honestly, it was a very odd experience to watch something like that among a solely German audience.

It took me 4 hours to write a 1 1/2 page essay that would have taken me maybe a half an hour if it was in English. I’m in for a tough semester…

I had a cold again this week, I blame it on the weather.

The weather here is starting to get somewhat chilly, but there’s no threat behind it. I dont know if this makes any sense to you, but you know how even the warm days in late October and early November have a kind of crispness to them? Like they’re saying that you should enjoy the warmth while it lasts because it sure as hell is gonna get cold? Here in Freiburg, the warm days that we have been having have none of that crispness, it almost feels like a Spring day. I dont know if that made any sense… but it does to me if thats worth anything?

I saw a Will Ferrell movie the other day with some friends. I had kind of expected the films to be in English with German subtitles. Nope! It’s difficult to follow along, and though I understand what’s going on, a lot of the humor goes slightly over my head. One thing that I had absolutely no problem understanding was Harry Potter.So I may be just a little bit excited… Oh, and I’m reading the Sorcerer’s Stone auf Deutsch. Harry Potter und der Stein der Weisen.

Just a reminder, since you all back in the States had daylight savings time this morning, we’re back to being 7 hours apart.

Sorry if it feels like the blogs are getting shorter, by the time I’m done with classes and reading and everything, the last thing I tend to want to do is to write a blog. I will however continue to post at least one a week, hopefully even twice. Next Saturday I go to Milan, so that should be a nice change of pace, yea?

One Response to “Ein Film ohne Gewissen”

  1. Kathryn Says:

    I have the second one in German!! Harry Potter und die Kammer des Schreckens 😀 havent had time to read/ translate most words just at the minute though 😦 lol xoxox


Leave a Reply

