Ten Days Later

09/24/2010

I finally got internet in my room. Now I can stop paying 90 cents for a half an hour in a tiny turkish internet cafe.

In case you were curious about what I have been up to over the last week or so, Mom left last Saturday, I met my former roommate on Monday (she left this morning, I should be getting a new one next week) and I got my visa yesterday, as well as registered at the Uni (though I dont get to pick my classes until a week or two from now).

I say former roommate because she moved out this morning, I should be getting a new one before the start of the semester… We shall see. My old roommate, Irina, came from Russia and the first words out of her mouth when we met was “Sit! We’ll have tea and talk!” So, we had tea, and talked. I have a feeling I’m going to come back a tea drinker, that’s for sure.

We went to an Irish Pub last night. I had no idea that there was a holiday called Andrew Guinness day, but apparently it was yesterday. I’m pretty impressed with the Irish and their beer. I’m not questioning that stereotype anymore…

I love being legal here, they dont even ID you.

After the pub, we went to a discothek. Love it. The music they play here is so much better than home, its more upbeat, less rap, and when there is rap, its got techno in the background. There are a lot of songs that my European friends knew, but I had never heard of… like this one, which was apparently the theme song to everyone else’s summer.

I finally got my train/tram/bus pass… but its not good until the first of October… I’m starting to get really sick of paying 2,10 to use the tram.

I turn twenty on Sunday… I can hardly believe it. Maybe its because everything is so new here, but days like my birthday that at home would be so important, seem kind of secondary or unimportant. Yom Kippur was the same thing. Even though we went to Kol Nidre and I fasted the next day, it didnt feel the way it normally does at home. I love it here though.

Classes dont start for another three weeks, I have a week of pretty much no plans next week, then international orientation starts the 4th of October (I’m kind of excited) and then classes start the 18th. It’s nice to have so much time here though, my German needs all the help it can get, even though its pretty alright for someone who has never been to Germany before these last two weeks.

All the people here (like in stores or whatever) automatically think I’m German. Maybe its the short hair and sweaters, but I am almost never immediately pegged as an American. Or, they talk to me in German anyways. But either way, people here assume I know German. Its really cool until I go to the Bank or the Bürgeramt and have no idea how to say anything. I was never taught official German. Everyday is a crash course. I learn it because I have to, which is why I am here in the first place.

Leave a Reply

